After a function is created, the default version is latest. Each function has the latest version. After the function code is published, you can modify the version configuration as required.
Publishing a Version
Deleting a Version
Deleting a version will permanently delete the associated code, configuration, alias, and event source mapping, but will not delete logs. Deleted versions cannot be recovered. Exercise caution when performing this operation.