IAM user synchronization is to synchronize IAM users bound with MRS policies to the MRS system and create accounts with the same usernames but different passwords as the IAM users. Then, you can use an IAM username (the password needs to be reset by user admin of Manager) to log in to Manager for cluster management, and submit jobs on the GUI in a cluster with Kerberos authentication enabled.
Table 1 compares IAM users' permission policies and the synchronized users' permissions on MRS. For details about the default permissions on Manager, see Default Permission Information.
Policy Type | IAM Policy | User's Default Permissions on MRS After Synchronization | Have Permission to Perform the Synchronization | Have Permission to Submit Jobs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Fine-grained | MRS ReadOnlyAccess | Manager_viewer | No | No |
MRS CommonOperations |
| No | Yes | |
MRS FullAccess |
| Yes | Yes | |
RBAC | MRS Administrator |
| No | Yes |
Server Administrator, Tenant Guest, and MRS Administrator |
| Yes | Yes | |
Tenant Administrator |
| Yes | Yes | |
Custom | Custom policy |
|
| Yes |
To facilitate user permission management, use fine-grained policies rather than RBAC policies. In fine-grained policies, the Deny action takes precedence over other actions.
If the IAM user's permission changes, go to 4 to perform second synchronization. After the second synchronization, a system user's permissions are the union of the permissions defined in the IAM system policy and the permissions of roles added by the system user on Manager. After the second synchronization, a custom user's permissions are subject to the permissions configured on Manager.
To undo the synchronization of an IAM user, select the user in the User column in the Synchronized tab and click Undo Sync.
To undo the synchronization of all users in an IAM user group, select the user group in the User Group column in the Synchronized tab and click Undo Sync.